I need more breaker slots

Old 10-06-09, 12:04 PM
K
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I need more breaker slots

Okay, I'm a carpenter, so I do not know the proper terminology...

I have a 200amp service in my workshop where there are only 8 avalible breaker slots (4 on each side) in the panel and they are all full.

I need additional slots.

The panel has 24 knock outs (12 on each side), but the problem is that the interior of the box only has the 8 avalible slots inside the panel.

The panel is a Cutler Hammer, can I find a new interior breaker load center so I don't have to replace the entire panel?

If so, where, and what should I be looking for?

Thanks,
Kurt

Sponsored Links
Old 10-06-09, 12:08 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 84 Votes on 72 Posts
I don't remember ever hearing of a 200 amp panel that small, but I haven't seen everything either.

You could add a subpanel to get more breaker space as long as the service will support the additional loads. You would need to open up 2adjacent slots for the new 2 pole breaker to feed the sub.

Old 10-06-09, 06:04 PM
K
The main issue is that I need to add a 220v 30amp service.
I currently have two other 220v breakers, so there is half of my available slots already.

Could I swap out the other 4 110v breakers with 2 duplex breakers to gain the space for the needed 220 breaker?

I had a older work space that an electrician add a small panel with a couple duplex breakers. I really did not have any problems with tripping them except for the one ran the compressor.

Are there any cons in relation to duplex breakers that I do not know about?

Thank you,
Kurt

Old 10-06-09, 06:36 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Originally Posted by kmolls View Post
Are there any cons in relation to duplex breakers that I do not know about?
They are okay as long as the panel is rated to support them. The label on the breaker panel or the model number can usually tell you how many if any tandems are allowed.