Furnace not warming up

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-09, 06:28 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace not warming up

Hi,

I recently bought a house, and have never used the Furnace. I changed some of the panel switches to GFCI because they did not have proper ground.

Now my furnace does come on, but it does not heat properly and it is signaling the following:
"115 volt AC power reversed, poor grounding or system
voltage too low"

Any suggestions?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-09, 06:56 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would check the wiring to the furnace using a multimeter and the installation instructions for the furnace. I would be sure the power supplied to the furnace was per the installation instructions for the furnace.

I would check that hot went to hot, neutral to neutral, and ground to ground. And that the wire/outlet for the furnace was wired properly. Also that there was a good proper electrical system ground.

If you don't know how to do this, best to call an electrician.

If you want to learn. Get books on basic home wiring at home improvement stores and read them cover to cover.

And here is more...
Mains electricity - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Also there are jumpers/setting in some new furnaces for the type of voltage supplied. Check the installation instructions that these are set properly.

(If all else fails, read the directions!)
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-09, 11:49 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 339
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by harpy2010 View Post
Hi,

I recently bought a house, and have never used the Furnace. I changed some of the panel switches to GFCI because they did not have proper ground.

Now my furnace does come on, but it does not heat properly and it is signaling the following:
"115 volt AC power reversed, poor grounding or system
voltage too low"

Any suggestions?

Thanks
How did you wire up the GFCI breaker. Where did the white & black wire go on your breaker.
Jim
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-09, 07:05 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by harpy2010 View Post
I changed some of the panel switches to GFCI because they did not have proper ground.
Can you elaborate on this? Are you talking about circuit breakers in the service panel or wall plate GFCI's?

Electric heat? Forced-air? Boiler?

If the furnace worked before you changed something and it doesn't work now, find that circuit and change it back to the way it was. At least you'll have heat until you figure out the cause.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: