Garage/Shop Sub Panel Service

Old 10-07-09, 05:30 PM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Garage/Shop Sub Panel Service

I have a woodworking shop in the third bay of a 3 car garage. I want to add a sub panel from my main service panel. My main service panel is a combination meter base and breaker panel. The breaker side of the service panel has 6 slots for double pole 240V. breakers. I have one spare left that I would like to add a 100 amp breaker/disconnect. I would like to put a 100 amp sub panel in the shop. I purchased a Square D 125 A. panel with 8 single pole spaces or 4 double pole spaces. I plan to use all spaces for 240V. breakers. I plan to power up my rotary phase coverter on a dedicated 50 amp breaker. I have a stick welder I would like to put on a dedicated 50 amp breaker. The other two breakers would be 30 amp used for receptacles for my various 240 volt woodworking equipment. Being an architect, I asked my electrical engineer about a service wire to the sub panel. He said to use 2-2-2-4 Aluminum wire to serve this panel. I have to run the service wire about 65 feet through my attic. I also have the option to run copper but it is siginificantly more expensive than the aluminum and my local code jurisdiction allows aluminum. I under stand this service must be coated with an antioxidizing coating and torqued at both panels. I must run the service wire in conduit up the side of the house and enter through the roof soffit. Here are a few questions...

1. Is 2-2-2-4 aluminum service wire adequate for this panel considering there is a 65 foot run? Should I get 1-1-1-4 but is tough to work with.

2. My main service panel being a combo meter base and breaker panel can not be de-energized. There is no main breaker between the sides. This means the new breaker will need to be wired with the panel hot. Sounds like a job for an experience electrician, or have the service company pull the meter...

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks Eric

Sponsored Links