A/C Disconnect install

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-09, 12:59 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: IL on 2002 NEC
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C Disconnect install

Hi - I'm installing a fusible A/C disconnect (Eaton / Cutler-Hammer DPF221RP) on the outside of my house where exposed to direct precipitation. This is being done (while I am rewiring the rest of the house) in preparation of a future central air install by a HVAC contractor, likely next year.

I want to mount it to the wood lap siding and use a EMT compression connector through the concentric circle knockout on the back of the box with a short piece of EMT extending just into the open and exposed 2x4 wall cavity, enough to maintain a 1 1/4" distance from the outside and inside stud faces. Then wired with 10/2 NM-B from the service panel, through the EMT sleeving it for protection, and then into the disconnect box. The EMT would be caulked where it goes through the siding.

1.) Is this acceptable?
2.) Is there a better/easier way?
3.) Is 1/2" EMT large enough for the 10/2?
4.) Do I need a NM clamp on the end of the EMT in the wall cavity?
5.) Are there any issues with the future contractor and this already being completed? I'm doing it now mainly because it makes sense while I am rewiring the rest, I'm picky and I'm sure that the HVAC contractor would not adhere to my anal wiring methods, and so that I can hopefully save a bit money as it will already be done. Even if it won't save me money, I'd still rather do it myself...

Thanks,
Rick
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-09, 01:28 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Your plan is okay. I'd probably use PVC so the open end of the conduit doesn't cut the cable. The hole should be sealed with caulk or expanding foam. The install should be okay for a future HVAC contractor -- #10 wire is sufficient for most high-efficiency A/C units these days. Most units also don't need to be fusible.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-09, 07:38 PM
electures's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since you are using a 30 amp fused disconnect the largest breaker allowed by the NEC for feeder protection will be a 30 amp. You are also limited to 30 amp fuses. This may present future problems. If you use a non-fused disconnect the 10 awg romex is rated to 40 amps and can be protected at the panel at whatever the maximum HACR breaker protection on the A/C unit label calls for. If the unit only allows fuses, you are limited to 30 amp fuses in a fused disconnect.

Also the NEC requires a connector where the romex enters the conduit. It is called a "transistion in wiring methods". 1/2" conduit can handle 3 #10 awg conductors.

If you know which model unit you are going to use, get the information off the unit and size everything correctly the first time.

Good luck!
 

Last edited by electures; 11-01-09 at 07:41 PM. Reason: Added info
  #4  
Old 11-03-09, 10:40 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,615
Received 41 Votes on 40 Posts
My location mods the NEC to add a MAX seperation of unit to disconnect of 6 feet. Check you local code. Don't forget provisions for the control cable; and delete the fuse option if allowed.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: