breaker popping - troubleshooting advice?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-09, 08:44 PM
ElectroLund's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
breaker popping - troubleshooting advice?

Hello, all.

I've got a problem with a popping breaker. There is one 20A breaker in my main house panel that is connected to a guest bedroom in the basement.

The basement has a subpanel in the laundry room. In its panel, there is another 20A breaker that seems to be tied to the same circuit.

When the main panel breaker is on, and if I attempt to turn on the corresponding breaker in the basement subpanel, the circuit breaks immediately. I can then turn on the subpanel breaker and the main panel breaker will be off.

Ditto goes for the other scenario (try to turn on the breaker in the main, blows breaker).

What's going on here?! Obviously a mistake on the electrician's part, right? Is there a hot wire going from breaker to breaker? But why would that pop the breaker, having both on at the same time?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-09, 08:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It did happend right after someone fix something along the way?

I have a feeling that you have crossed circuit that why you trip the breaker.

If that electrician did do something along the place and casue the breaker to trip you have to call that electrician to come back and deal with it if not let us know.

Merci,Marc
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-09, 06:46 AM
ElectroLund's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey, French, yes it did happen after an electrician did some other updates. I guess I can call him back out here.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-09, 09:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the circuit is connected to two CB's , and a CB trips when both CB's are closed, then the connection is a 220 volt short-circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-09, 04:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ElectroLund View Post
Hey, French, yes it did happen after an electrician did some other updates. I guess I can call him back out here.

If that electrican screw up he should able deal with that and call them back and they have to fix it right.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: