THHN in Conduit questions

Old 10-14-09, 11:19 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
THHN in Conduit questions

I will be running 12g THHN in 3/4 EMT conduit between junction boxes. Most probably 3 separate runs of EMT each with a single circuit inside.

I am comfortable running romex but THHN I have never done before. I am assuming I need a black, white and a green.

Questions-
Green vs. bare ground within the conduit? I think the answer is Green sheathed vs. bare but I am not sure. Each Junction box is metal and will be grounded also. Ground will be 12g, possibly 10g depending on price just on the theory of possibly upgrading service down the road.
Securing THHN? Between JB's and within conduit there is no way to secure it. I know (at least I think I do ) running romex out of EMT it needs a clamp at the end of the EMT if it doesn't transition directly into a box. Is this the same for THNN? I.e. just pull the cables and make the connections in each JB, no "securing" required at either end?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-14-09, 11:32 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 102 Votes on 95 Posts
Originally Posted by ragifiro View Post
I will be running 12g THHN in 3/4 EMT conduit between junction boxes. Most probably 3 separate runs of EMT each with a single circuit inside.
You can fit those three runs into one 3/4" conduit if it makes sense routing wise). You'll need only one ground wire. If you do run one circuit per conduit, you can easily use 1/2" EMT unless you're planning for future upgrades.

Green vs. bare ground within the conduit? I think the answer is Green sheathed vs. bare but I am not sure. Each Junction box is metal and will be grounded also. Ground will be 12g, possibly 10g depending on price just on the theory of possibly upgrading service down the road.