installing receptacles and switches before drywall

Old 10-15-09, 08:10 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
installing receptacles and switches before drywall

Since I am doing all the electrical work myself on my large addition and since I'm not an expert I would feel much better if I installed all my switches and receptacles before the drywall in order to test them and make sure everything is wired correctly. I will not be doing the drywall install myself, I will pay someone to do it and I will ask local contractors about this but thought I'd also ask on here what everyone's thoughts are. Is it a really bad idea to install them first, will it cause pains for the drywall installers. I guess if I did install them before drywall I would have to protect them somehome, I was thinking maybe painters tape. I obviously will double check the wiring but would still feel better if I could actually power some up and test them.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-15-09, 08:27 PM
Originally Posted by firedog79 View Post
Since I am doing all the electrical work myself on my large addition and since I'm not an expert I would feel much better if I installed all my switches and receptacles before the drywall in order to test them and make sure everything is wired correctly. I will not be doing the drywall install myself, I will pay someone to do it and I will ask local contractors about this but thought I'd also ask on here what everyone's thoughts are. Is it a really bad idea to install them first, will it cause pains for the drywall installers. I guess if I did install them before drywall I would have to protect them somehome, I was thinking maybe painters tape. I obviously will double check the wiring but would still feel better if I could actually power some up and test them.
A bad idea? YES.