Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Replacing a single gang switch box with a 2 gang switch box

Replacing a single gang switch box with a 2 gang switch box


  #1  
Old 10-16-09, 03:24 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing a single gang switch box with a 2 gang switch box

Hi,
I'm adding an additional switch for a new fixture in a bedroom. There is an existing single gang new work metal switch box that I will be replacing with a two gang switch box. Since I am replacing a new work box that is already mounted to the stud, is it easier to just expand the drywall hole and mount a new work 2 gang box to the stud, or get a 2 gang old work box instead? Any recommendations?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 10-16-09, 04:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
On Ask This Old House I saw an electrician expand a single gang box into a double gang box with out making such a big hole it had to be patched. I don;t see how he did it but I guess he did it because the original cable was MC and he would have had to use a metal old work box.

Assuming only NM-b in my opinion a lot easy to just remove the old box by cutting the nails with a Sawzall or just cutting a new hole to fit a double old work box. The new wider hole usually gives enough room to just pry the original box off.
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-09, 08:22 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,118
Received 343 Votes on 296 Posts
I saw that one too but if you look closely I would bet it would have required a jumbo plate.

I suggest removing the old box and install a new remodel box. a 2x3" gangable switch box would work well.
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-09, 08:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
I saw that one too but if you look closely I would bet it would have required a jumbo plate.
.
And how did he get to the screws on the old box? And why weren't they rusted in.
 
  #5  
Old 10-16-09, 11:37 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I also saw that episode and I would have been ashamed to be that electrician.

To answer the original question, it would probably be easier to use an old-work box and do some minor patching.
 
  #6  
Old 10-17-09, 06:17 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the recommendations. My only hesitation about using an old work box is that last time I put one in, the cover didn't sit exactly flush with the wall. There was probably an 1/8" gap between the wall and edge of the cover.
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-09, 06:32 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,254
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
When using an old work style box the ears on the device are broken off to allow the trim plate to fit flush. Some trim plates are dished deeper also and fit better to the wall.

I am really starting to prefer the old work style box that screws to the studs for a more secure mounting.
 
  #8  
Old 10-17-09, 08:30 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,118
Received 343 Votes on 296 Posts
Originally Posted by furd View Post
I also saw that episode and I would have been ashamed to be that electrician.
If I remember correctly he used his linesmen pliers to strip the romex I think maybe he did the same for stripping the wires?!

Originally Posted by jwwest View Post
Thanks for the recommendations. My only hesitation about using an old work box is that last time I put one in, the cover didn't sit exactly flush with the wall. There was probably an 1/8" gap between the wall and edge of the cover.
If you use a metal old work box, set the ears so the box sides are about 1/16" shy of the wall face. (no more than an 1/8")
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: