Loading a 15 Amp Circuit - WORRIED!!!

Old 10-19-09, 08:16 AM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Loading a 15 Amp Circuit - WORRIED!!!

I am not a professional but one of those do it yourself guys. I know a tad about electrical wiring but was not aware of the LOAD peramiters of the 15amp circuit. I now know the 15 amp circuit in my bedroom only will handle 1800 watts. I also know I should only load the circuit with 80% of load (1400 watts). My problem is my remodel is complete and I added a buildout in my master bedroom for my LCD tv and surround sound in the bedroom. BIG problem is that I tapped off of the electrical outlet in the wall (15 amp) that drives all 6 outlets in the bedroom PLUS, the previous owner tapped into the same cirtuit to run the living room buildout for TV and surround sound there. I added all my items (TV's, Deck's, CD's Cox cable boxes, DVD players, 3 in can lighting and such....my total drain on the cirtuit IF all items on the same time (not having anything else plugged into the bedroom outlets) is 1710 watts. Now I know I most likely will not have all of these items on at the same time but is it a BAD thing that I have wired the entertainment centers to feed off of one 15 amp circuit? Believe me, I would have tapped into another circuit but there was nothing close to the bedroom (without tearing out the walls). I would have liked to add a 20 amp dedicated circuit but that was not in the cards. Have I screwed up my remodel from a wiring standpoint or should I be OK? What could happen?

Thanks professionals!!!

Jay

Old 10-19-09, 08:21 AM
T
Received 47 Votes on 46 Posts
"what could happen"

The wife will plug in a space heater, and the ball game(s) turn off with 12 half drunk fans watching. Or even just a hair dryer. Or.... well, you get the idea. It's not likely a fire safety issue, however.

Old 10-19-09, 08:25 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Jay,