Outlet blew up in my face!

Old 10-22-09, 07:46 AM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlet blew up in my face!

I'm no expert on electrical wiring, but I know enough to be able to do the simple things round the house, like moving or adding new outlets, replacing old outlets with GFI units, etc. Having been zapped more than a few times through my life I also tend to be a bit wary of getting another dosage of electricity, though living in the USA, as I do these days, and dealing with its voltage is certainly easier than dealing with the double dosage one gets in my home country of Australia.

Still, the other day I got the bejesus scared out of me and I've been left wandering what I could have done differently and what actually happened. Maybe someone might be able to give me some pointers.