Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Triple Switch Wiring for New Bathroom Ventilation Fan/Light/Night Light

Old 10-27-09, 06:23 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I'm extremely new at this, so please bear with me and use small words.

I am in the process of installing a new ventilation fan in my master bathroom. The unit has a fan, light and night light, so I have a triple switch that I plan to use (COOPER WIRING DEVICES 3283W-SP SWITCH 3SP GRND WHT 15A). Based on what I've found through my research, I think I understand what needs to be done, but would like to clarify before I actually hook anything up. Just some background information that I hope will help.

The unit that I have purchased has the following wiring:
Fan: 3 wires, black, white and green
Light: 3 wires, black, white and green
Night Light: 2 wires, black and white

I have a GFCI outlet inches from where I want to mount the triple switch, so my intention is to tap into the Load side of this outlet to power my new switch. Here is how I believe the wiring should be:

12-2 running from the GFCI outlet to my new triple switch. Black to black screw on switch, white wire left for now. Two runs of 12-2 from my switch up to the exhaust fan. Of those 4 new wires, two blacks and a hot white will be connected to each of the three copper screws on the other side of my switch. These three hot wires will be connected, one each, to the black wires of my fan, light and night light. The three white wires on the unit will be connected to the non-hot white of my new 12-2 wire which will be connected to the previously unused white that comes off my GFCI outlet.

How am I doing so far? Can all the greens be tied together and connected to the copper in my 12-2 and subsequently grounded to my triple switch?