sub panel question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-28-09, 08:56 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: middle of nowhere
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sub panel question

Ive read the sticky at the top of the page.
I have a 200 Amp in the garage and I was going to add a smaller sub right next to it.
3 wire feeding the house.
the neutral and ground are connected.
I was going to remove the 220 plug (bottom left) connected to the bottom left of the circuit panel and run the wires to the new sub panel.
So I was going to put in a 100 Amp breaker and 125 Amp sub panel.
Should I treat this like a 4 wire (even though the current 220 recepticle shown is a 3 wire) 220v appliance and run
Hots to Hots, neutral to neutral, and ground to ground.
In the main, the Neutral and ground are together?


 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-28-09, 09:04 PM
Niadh's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Run 4 wires to the sub and keep the sub's neutral and ground bars separate. The main panel is the only place the neutral and ground can be bonded.
 
  #3  
Old 10-29-09, 04:28 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: middle of nowhere
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
simple enough. ground and neutral will come back together at the main. In the sub, they will be isolated.

thanks.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: