208V oven on 240V

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-20-09, 07:04 AM
barryds's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
208V oven on 240V

I have a wall oven that requires 208/120V 20A service. (This unit only has two hot lines and seems to be designed to operate between two legs and neutral of a 240V 3 phase circuit.) My second thought was to bump down my 240 with a buck transformer. (My first thought was to sell it and buy a 240V oven, but let me ponder my second though first.) My guess, and I will need to confirm this, is all the 120V loads are probably using only one leg of the 240 and neutral. If this is so, I think I should be able to tie that leg to one side of the secondary and let the other side be some odd voltage WRT neutral. My question, aside from am I nuts, is what will that odd voltage be? Is the output of a transformer typically close to in phase with the input? I'm guessing it would matter which leg of the secondary I tie to which leg of the primary to determine if the 120 gets added or subtracted from the 208. My thought is this will work, as long as I'm not going to create a line that is some 328V relative to ground. What do you think?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-20-09, 07:32 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It would help the Pros if you tell us if it is a commercial oven and the make and model number.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-09, 08:15 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
First check with the manufacturer to make sure that the oven isn't dual rated 208V-240V as many are.

The 120V loads should work just fine. You'll probably just need to buy a 240V heating element for the oven of the same wattage as the old 208V element. Many manufacturers sell both options.

The problem with using the 208V oven on a 240V circuit is that the heating element can draw too much current and overheat.
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-09, 09:05 AM
barryds's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's not a commercial oven. It's a residential wall oven. The brand is Miele. I think it's a model H387. I don't think it's dual rated for 208 or 240. There's a caution lable on it that specifically says NOT to connect it to 240V. I guess changing the heating elements doesn't sound like a bad option, provided that's all that uses the 208V.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-09, 09:14 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Usually the heating element is the only component in an oven that uses 208/240V.
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-09, 09:23 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is that the US Miele or the German one that makes European appliances. The model number seemed to refference ovens sold in the UK. Didn't really dig that deep. Is it 50hz or 60hz?
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-09, 08:08 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by barryds View Post
It's not a commercial oven. It's a residential wall oven. The brand is Miele. I think it's a model H387. I don't think it's dual rated for 208 or 240. There's a caution lable on it that specifically says NOT to connect it to 240V. I guess changing the heating elements doesn't sound like a bad option, provided that's all that uses the 208V.
Can you double check the model number if that is 300 series the model and serial number will be on bottom left corner of your oven.

Due that number H387 is non standard model number so just verify it due I have European mainlist with me { I am in France so it easy for me to get the numbers fast }

But it may be a light commercal oven or factory option of 208 volt heating elements but double check the nameplate for correct voltage it should be in the same area as the model / serial number will show up other wise it will be one of three location depending on which series it will be the 400 series will be at left centre locaton while the rest will be on bottom right

Merci,marc
 
  #8  
Old 11-21-09, 10:09 AM
barryds's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure of the model number. I've looked really hard for it, but I jsut don't see it on the unit. When you say on the bottom left, is that inside the oven on the bottom left or actually under the unit? Do I need to remove anything to find it? I do see a lable on top that applies only to US and Canada units. It states it takes 60 Hz.
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-09, 11:25 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will provide the link to this one and it should help you with this one { due this one I got correct one for North America side the European verison are diffrent }

Ovens models page™

Hope it should give you some idea if need more info with this link let me know I have quite few diffrent way to get into it.

Merci,Marc
 
  #10  
Old 11-22-09, 03:19 AM
barryds's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That was the site I used to guess at the model number. The oven I have is not current. They have literature for discontinued models, though. Looking through that, I believe I have a H 387-1 B or H 387-2 B, based just on physical dimensions, appearance and features. I still can't find a model number on the unit, though.
 
  #11  
Old 11-22-09, 10:10 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok got it and give me a day I will get a hold of them to see what the story about it.

Merci.
Marc
 
  #12  
Old 12-08-09, 10:05 AM
barryds's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pardon, Monsieur 277, Have you found anything about being able to convert a 208 V oven to run on 240 V?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: