When to upgrade industrial panel??

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-09, 09:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When to upgrade industrial panel??

haven't been here awhile, question for the masses. Industrial setting, panel is indoors not exposed to the elements. At what point in time do I need to replace an old, prolly late 70's early 80's era. 800A FPE panel. I have 5 services here at this location, this is the oldest 480V serivice I have. I don't like FPE, but on the other hand this panel is not giving trouble. I've been asked to look at building upgrades for the coming year. Thanks much for any info, experience you guys have.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-09, 09:24 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Unless there are problems or there is a change in the future that this panel would cause a problem for, I do not see any reason to just replace it. That is not that old of a panel.

the one thing that would make me consider a change out is:

are breakers readily available for whatever model panel it is?
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-09, 09:42 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
As long as the panel seems to be in good condition and there is no expected increase in load, I see no reason to replace it.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-09, 11:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 72
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another thing to think about as well is that newer breakers/boards have more advanced metering and communications. If electrical usage data is important to your organization, upgrading the panel would be the easiest way to capture more data.
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-09, 12:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Businesses like things which save money in the long run. Explore ideas which will reduce energy costs if possible.
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-09, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 171
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for all the answers, We do monitor all our services with the old Westinghouse IMPACC system, think CH has it now. Maybe should just stick with this one for now. Can't anticipate adding anything to it in the future. Just reviewing capital project potentials for the coming year and this was suggested.
 
  #7  
Old 11-23-09, 07:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 54
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jedi9 View Post
Thanks for all the answers, We do monitor all our services with the old Westinghouse IMPACC system, think CH has it now. Maybe should just stick with this one for now. Can't anticipate adding anything to it in the future. Just reviewing capital project potentials for the coming year and this was suggested.
How critical is this application. I have found many problems on critical loads with thermal imaging (infrared camera). It might be worth hiring someone to scan your equipment. That could give you an indication of any problems you may have with your FPE panel.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: