200A Main

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-09, 11:11 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
200A Main

I am in the middle of a home remodel and need to upgrade my service from 100A to 200A requiring a new main panel. Currently, I have a ringed meter at my main with a single 100A breaker feeding a subpanel. I have added a second subpanel to handle the new addition. The new 200A main panel must have a 200A main breaker and then a dedicated 100A breaker for each subpanel.

The service power is bottom feed and both supply lines to the subpanels feed from the top of the main. I will have no breakers in the main other than the breakers feeding the subpanel.

I have not been able to identify a new main that meets the above requirements.

Ideally, the new panel will be of similar size to my current 14.5"x19".

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

-Steve
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-09, 07:19 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,631
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
Do you have an outside meter/panel combo? How is you current service set up? Is it a meter outside the house feeding your main just inside from the meter? How old is your home?

Since you have what sounds like an underground service likely your power companies wires are large enough for 200 amps (their sizing not bound by the NEC) but like Bobby posted your should call to make sure. They also might need to up size the transformer.

The reason you are not finding a 200 amp main panel that meets your size requirements is because there are rules about wire bending space in a panel cabinet. 2/0 - 4/0 wire requires much more room to bend than #3.
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-09, 12:29 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Tolyn Ironhand and Bobby123456 for your replies. In answer to your questions:

- Yes, I am working with my electrical service provider and city inspector to ensure I have the proper supply lines. I is 2/0 but not sure yet if it is copper or aluminum. I will need to pull the breaker to figure that out.

- It is a combo main/meter configuration ourside. The main only has the single 100A breaker feading a subpanel in my garage. The house was built in 1976. The feed from the main to the sub is 2/0 aluminum.

- I had not thought though the issue on the wire bend radius.

With that in mind, is there a larger main that will support my needs?

Thanks,

-Steve
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-09, 01:59 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
you also cannot use the current meter main unless it is rated for 200 amp. If you had a 100 amp service not, most likely your meter main is only 100 amp rated and not adequate.

something like this would get you to a main panel:

http://www.milbankmfg.com/Products/C...491-Haines.pdf

but what about using a meter main with 2- 100 amp breakers, one for each (sub)panel? would that make things easier for you?
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-09, 02:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nap,

I appreciate the response. Yes, I may need to upgrade the meter as well.

With regards to the main, a main meter with 2-100A breakers is exactly what I am looking for.

This main looks good though I will need a ringed meter. My search of Milbank did not yield a 200A ringed meter in their catalog.

-Steve
 
  #6  
Old 12-11-09, 04:09 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
why would you need a ringed meter? Is that what the power company in your area requuires?
 
  #7  
Old 12-12-09, 10:03 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,631
Received 209 Votes on 185 Posts
Your power company can supply you with a ringless meter in exchange of your lod meter.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: