Installing a plug

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-09, 08:53 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing a plug

My bathroom has no power outlet, and I was thinking of replacing the light switch with a light/power switch. Is there any additional wiring or extra work involved ? Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated . . .
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-12-09, 10:24 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You should get a book on home electrical wiring and read it cover to cover.

Then you will be able to understand how your bathroom is wired.

In some cases, there is power at the light switch.

In other cases there is power at the light fixture.

In yet other cases, a junction box is used elsewhere and power is run to that.

Depending on *where* power is run, you would need to do different things.

Also a GFCI outlet is required in bathrooms for your own protection.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-09, 11:44 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,709
Received 19 Votes on 18 Posts
Receptacle and Switch

Do you have enough space to change the single gang switch box to a double gang box?
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-09, 01:25 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are best to leave that alone, and install a new 20A circuit with GFCI.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: