No where to place ground wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-13-09, 10:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No where to place ground wire?

I am installing a new baseboard thermostat and the thermostat does not have a place to put the ground wire, the electrical box is not metal. The ground wire was attached to the old thermostat, what should i do with it?
Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-13-09, 11:02 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Upvotes: 0
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
If the thermostat is mostly plastic it probably does not need a ground wire. Connect the grounds in the box with a wirenut and fold them to the back of the box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-09, 11:03 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,867
Received 15 Votes on 12 Posts
Just splice it to any other grounds and tuck it into the back of the box.
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-09, 11:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
easy enough, thanks guys
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: