grounding a switch in a metal box

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-09, 09:03 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 96
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
grounding a switch in a metal box

I have a light switch in a metal jbox. There is no grd wire connected directly to the switch (green screw). The box is grounded (I see the other grds wound together and 1 grd wire screwed into the metal box. Should I ground the switch with its own wire and pitail int othe others or is it grounded as it is screwed into the metal box with a metal screw? It goes to an outside light.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-14-09, 09:14 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
Yes, add a pigtail and connect it to both the switch and the other ground wires in toe box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-09, 09:21 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 96
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any guess at to why they would'nt have done it?

There were also a couple other 3 way switches in the house that are NOT in metal boxes that already went ahead and did the grounding on. Was that just not general practice years ago? These are OLLLLLD switches. late 70/early 80's when they were probably put in.
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-09, 09:47 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
Correct, older code did not require switches to be grounded. This has changed and are now required to be grounded.
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-09, 09:48 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Originally Posted by sandyharry View Post
Was that just not general practice years ago? These are OLLLLLD switches. late 70/early 80's when they were probably put in.
The grounding requirement used to be more lax. Based on current code, a switch in a metal box with metal screws does not require a separate ground wire to the switch. All other situations require a ground wire directly to the switch. I usually add one anyway.
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-09, 03:41 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 96
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
as did I...you guys have taught us good habits!!!

See, your wisdom helps!!!Beer 4U2
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: