adding switch with new track light fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-09, 07:42 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question adding switch with new track light fixture

Im replacing my old pushbutton switch florescent light fixture in my bathroom with a new 3 light tracklight fixture...I want to add a single pole switch for it... the old fixture was hardwired from a 2 wire and ground that looks like its coming from a receptical close to the old light in the bathroom.. What do I need to do ???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-09, 08:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You will need to run 12-2 or 14-2 Romex to where you want the switch. This is called a switch loop.The white wire of the new Romex should be re-marked in red (or any color but white or green) with tape or felt tip marker on both ends.

At the light:

The white of your original cable goes to the white of the light.

The black of the original cable goes to the black of the new cable.

The red (recolored white) of the new cable goes to the black wire of the light.

At the Switch one wire to each screw.

All grounds tied together and if a metal box a pigtail to the metal box.

12-2=20 amp breaker 14-2=15 amp breaker
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-09, 08:56 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture which might help...
http://www.make-my-own-house.com/images/ellightbulb.jpg

White is called "neutral".
Black is called "hot".
Bare or green is called "ground".

I found the above picture/diagram by going to google.com, clicking on "Images" at the top, then searching for the words...
wiring a switch
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-09, 09:16 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
diagrams do make it easier to understand,dont they ...Thanks for the tip..
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-09, 09:19 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does it matter how the Romax is wired on the other end of where the exsisting one was for the old light ???
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-09, 09:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The picture linked to above is wrong for his situation. It shows power in at the switch. He has power at the light.

This is the correct diagram:

 
  #7  
Old 12-15-09, 09:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by retiredguy705 View Post
Does it matter how the Romax is wired on the other end of where the exsisting one was for the old light ???
Yes, see my instructions and the diagram in my last post. The other diagram posted earlier is wrong for your situation.
 
  #8  
Old 12-15-09, 10:00 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its starting to make sense now...Thanks Ray2047...I'm going to research "Switch Loop " a little more online so I can feel a little more comfortable sleeping at night not worrying about the house burning down..
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-09, 05:32 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
where do you find those diagrams
 
  #10  
Old 12-16-09, 09:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by samson32 View Post
where do you find those diagrams
You can just Google them. I just draw them out using Kolour Paint and Gimp. That's why mine are so crude.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: