Outdoor Power outlets not working

Old 12-16-09, 05:07 AM
V
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outdoor Power outlets not working

I've recently installed my Christmas lights outside. After a storm came through none of my outdoor power outlets work, but the Christmas lights are fine in any other outlet.

How can I fix my outdoor outlets?

Old 12-16-09, 06:08 AM
C
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Is one of your outdoor receptacles GFCI? If so, did you try to reset it?

Is it possible you have a GFCI breaker for your outdoor receptacles?

Old 12-16-09, 06:15 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
As caddymac said, also check in the garage or basement for a tripped GFCI that may be hidden behind boxes, etc. Quite often they control the outside receptacles.

Old 12-16-09, 07:38 AM
M
Hidden upstream GFCIs are one of the banes of my existence as a home inspector, I carry a 100 foot heavy-duty extension cord for times when a freezer or fridge in the garage is on such a circuit I can't locate the GFCI after it trips.

A few possibilities to watch for:

- Likeliest possibility is an outlet in a garage, hidden behind personal possessions.

- Next most likely possibility is a GFCI in a bathroom, don't assume it's the obvious GFCI near the sink.

- Next most likely are the kitchen and basement, in that order

- If there is a remodeled basement, the GFCI may be paneled over, or hidden back behind some bit of finish material but visible with a hand mirror.

- I have found GFCIs protecting exterior outlets and installed in attics.

- In a outlet boxes located high up on the wall were under the eaves to power holiday lighting.

- In load side panels ("sub panels") hidden in closets and the like.

- Worst case is when someone has dry walled over the GFCI, this one doesn't get located until electrician starts tracing down the circuit.