Using a 3 way switch in a one way application?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-21-09, 11:08 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using a 3 way switch in a one way application?

I purchased 3 way dimmer switches by accident when I only needed one way dimmers. Is there an easy way to use the 3 way switch in a one way application? Seems like I should be able to just use a jumper wire between the two travellor connections?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-21-09, 11:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
Some dimmers are convertible between single pole and 3 way operation. You really need to check the instructions included with the dimmer.
 
  #3  
Old 12-21-09, 09:23 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What model number dimmer switch you have ?

The reason why I asked due some can able run in single pole mode but some case no it can not.

Merci.
Marc
 
  #4  
Old 12-22-09, 05:34 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by french277V View Post
What model number dimmer switch you have ?

The reason why I asked due some can able run in single pole mode but some case no it can not.

Merci.
Marc
It's a Leviton Maestro. I already checked the instructions and they don't mention a single pole mode. I guess my question is if there is a generic way to make it single pole mode by using a jumper wire and connecting the hot lead to the travellor lead. I believe that should work....
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-09, 06:49 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The generic way is just to cap or ignore one traveller, and connect the other to your load.

Perhaps you mean Lutron Maestro. I think you can ignore the blue screw if that is the case.
 
  #6  
Old 12-22-09, 10:14 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Classicsat is right most case it will ingore extra traveller conductor however as he mention Lutron Masetro if that is correct model then just cap off the bleu conductor and you are good to go.

That should clear up some issue you have there if not let me paste the wiring diagram here.

http://www.lutron.com/CMS400/WorkAre....aspx?id=18045

Just click on that and it will download the details you need to know.

Merci,Marc
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-09, 12:40 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, it's a Leviton Vizia Model # VZOOR-1L

There are the following leads on this dimmer:
WH = white hot?
BK = black neutral?
YL/RD = travellor?

There's also another lead that I think is a ground....

So just hook up WH and BK and ignore the travellor? I think my contractor tried that without success...
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-09, 05:38 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
Black should never be a neutral. Green will always be the ground.

What did the instructions call for connection wise?
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-09, 06:02 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,767
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is not a dimmer. That is a remote for a
Vizia 3-way dimmer or other device.
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-09, 07:01 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree with Classicsat this is a remote device not a master dimmer at all so you have to take it back to the store and get the correct model.

Merci,Marc
 
  #11  
Old 01-06-10, 01:11 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: California
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I can't return it anymore - I bought it off E-bay and it was advertised as a dimmer which in the fine print actually said 3-way dimmer.....
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: