Split Outlet and Two Switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-03-10, 01:32 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Split Outlet and Two Switches

I'm trying to figure out how to wire this.

I have power running to a 15 amp outlet with just 14/2 cable. I want to install two switches above this outlet.

I want switch #1 to control the top of the outlet and keep the bottom always hot. I want to switch #2 to control another light receptacle I haven't yet installed.

I know how to wire a split outlet on one switch, but how do I also carry the current to the second switch so that I can independently control a different light fixture?

Thanks for reading
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-03-10, 01:56 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Welcome to the forums! You would first break off the tab on the hot side between the screws. This separates the halves. Leave the neutral side alone. Pigtail your incoming hot lead connecting hot to the bottom screw. On a cable from the switch, connect black to one screw, tape the end of the white with black tape and connect it to the other screw on the switch. On the other end, wrap black tape on the end of the white wire and connect it to your pigtail to the hot inbound and the black to the top screw on your receptacle. That takes care of receptacle and switch number one.
Where will receptacle #2 be located in relation to the switch and existing receptacle. There are hard and easy ways to do this, so let us know.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-10, 02:30 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the great information. Both switches will be installed above the outlet in a 2-gang box. If you need more information, please let me know.
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-10, 06:23 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
You can tap the additional receptacle by bringing it's cable into the other receptacle box, attaching the white neutral to the available screw on the neutral side, attaching the hot pigtail you have already created to the white of a cable you run to the second switch, just like you did for the other switch/receptacle combination, and running the black wire of that cable to the black wire going to the second receptacle. Gosh, I hope I got all the words right. I can do it blindfolded, but putting it into words is really a challenge. Let us know if you have any more questions. I was really wanting to know the position of the second receptacle in relation to the first one, as you may can run it differently, but I think you will get the gist of the install.
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-10, 07:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
The white will need to be re-identified if you are using it as a hot conductor. You can use either tape or a magic marker. I would use either black or red.

Larry, I know what you mean. Sometimes it is so easy to skip a step that we do automatically but don't notice it when it gets typed.
 
  #6  
Old 01-04-10, 03:46 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I get it - looks good on paper. Thanks for the help guys!
 
  #7  
Old 01-04-10, 04:02 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
C'mon back if you ever want to try again. Someone's always awake.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: