Help anyone....

Old 01-05-10, 05:15 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile Help anyone....

I work in the concrete testing field and we make molds of the concrete and then test the strength after certain amount of days however for the first 24 hours these molds have to sit in a homemade 4 ft long by 2 1/2 ft tall cure box and cure..... the problem i am facing is the temperature needs to be maintained aroun 60 to 70 degrees.... i live in western new york and it gets mighty cold in the winter and need a way to somehow put a portable power supply wit maybe a thermostat and just a light bulb or something to put a little heat in there if it gets a little chilly.... the box is insulated however it still doesnt keep it warm enough in there..... on most of our jobs there may be no electric in site so if anyone has any ideas on a way to maybe make a portable thermostat wit a portable power supply please let me know......

Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-10, 05:52 AM
Group Moderator
Received 204 Votes on 181 Posts
Three things come to mind:

1) You can use some deep cycle 12volt batteries and a AC inverter. There are tons of them out there to choose from. The only issue I can see is the wattage ratings (although it looks like you can get 1500 watt ones) and how long the batteries will last.

2) A generator would provide you all the power you need. Just making it so it won't disappear from the job site is the challange.

3) How about a propane heater with a thermostat?

Old 01-05-10, 05:57 AM
R
I was thinking deep cycle marine battery and an inverter also. He might be able to get away with a couple of 100w light bulbs in there?

Old 01-05-10, 06:03 AM
S
not bad ideas

those are some good ideas just not sure how to hook up the thermostat to a light bulb?

Old 01-05-10, 06:16 AM
R
The easiest way would be to use a line voltage(120v) thermostat. It gets installed on the hot leg of the 120 volt supply to the bulb.

Old 01-05-10, 07:56 AM
S
where to get