220v Timer Switch.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-10, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
220v Timer Switch.

I have a lawn irrigation well that has a 220 pump. Currently i use it to water the lawn. The well is turned on/off with a single throw switch mounted in a single box on the side of the house. I would like to be able to turn the well on and have it turn off at a predetermined period of time.

Example: I am leaving home at lunch to go back to work. I sprinklers (not in ground) in the front yard, and i want to start the well, and have them run for 45 minutes and then shut off. I know a sprinkler controller will do this but i want a simpler mech. I would think there would be something like a wound timer etc. that would work but i can't find online.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-10, 11:14 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,821
Likes Received: 14
Have a look at the Intermatic brand timers they sell for controlling pool pumps and other similar loads. There should be something there that meets your need.

Down at the bottom of the left column is a "mechanical time switch" category with several different types of timers:

Timers | Intermatic, Inc.
 
  #3  
Old 01-26-10, 02:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
The advantage to a wind- down timer is that it's a "one-time-only" operation , and does not "re-cycle" and operate again at an inopprotune time.

Because you are controlling a 220 volt circuit, this type of timer is best used in this application to control a 2-pole contactor or switching-relay . You don't want the timer contacts inserted in a 220 volt power .circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 01-26-10, 02:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
I gave some incorrect information earlier. Upon further inspection my current switch is a Leviton 115 V. Apparently i already have a relay????

http://www.farm-home.com/mn/v11_cata...51-0857~~~~~~~
 
  #5  
Old 01-26-10, 07:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
Any other ideas on how i can install a 110v 15 amp spring wound timer switch outside into an existing surface mounted single gang box?
 
  #6  
Old 01-26-10, 09:22 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
Sure, you can find them here Let me google that for you
 
  #7  
Old 01-26-10, 09:22 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,821
Likes Received: 14
If the motor has a different "maintenance disconnect means" such as a cord or a pullout switch, it is legal to just replace your toggle switch with the spring wound timer and wire it to only break one of the hots.

The code requires that motors have a disconnect which switches off both hots, but additional timers, controllers, etc are allowed to just switch one hot.

You could surface mount another single gang box right next to the current one joined by a short conduit nipple. Leave the current disconnect switch, but run one of the hots through the wound timer in the adjacent box so that both the switch and the timer must be on for the pump to run.
 
  #8  
Old 01-27-10, 03:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
Here is a pic. You can see the toggle switch and the box it goes to.
 
  #9  
Old 01-28-10, 02:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
If you mount the "Wind-Down" timer on the box , the problem is to have the knob in a weather-tight enclosure ; to do this , set a 1" deep weather-proof extension box on the existing box after the timer is in place, then set a weather-proof plate with a vertical "hinge-door cover" on the extension box.
 
  #10  
Old 02-01-10, 12:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Sure, you can find them here Let me google that for you
Thanks.
............................................................
 
  #11  
Old 02-01-10, 01:55 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,821
Likes Received: 14
If the breaker for the pump is in one of those boxes pictures above or beside, then you can simply replace the current switch with the spring timer. The breaker (within line of sight) would count as the maintenance disconnect means. I recommend an in-use bubble cover over the timer.

You could use either a DPST timer and break both hot legs or a SPST timer and break one leg.
 
  #12  
Old 02-01-10, 03:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
Originally Posted by ibpooks View Post
If the breaker for the pump is in one of those boxes pictures above or beside, then you can simply replace the current switch with the spring timer. The breaker (within line of sight) would count as the maintenance disconnect means. I recommend an in-use bubble cover over the timer.

You could use either a DPST timer and break both hot legs or a SPST timer and break one leg.
The box above it is the pump motor control box.
 
  #13  
Old 02-27-10, 06:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
What is the difference between the motor control box and a pump start relay which I will need if i decide to go with sprinklers?

Will the pump start relay replace the motor control box?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes