electricl problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-30-10, 06:27 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
electricl problem

Old house...lot of outlets, etc...on sme circuit. All of sudden today, I lose power on one breaker. Breaker isn't tripped. I have power on part of the ciruit but not all of it. I had a small space heater plugged into one of the outlets on the circuit but i'm beginning to think I have an issue after the first outlet because thats the only place i Have poser to. Any ideas where to check?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-30-10, 06:51 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
Heavy draw appliances like heaters will tend to cause marginal connections to fail open. I would turn the power off to that circuit and remove the receptacle. Look for loose connections. Move the connections to the screw terminals if they aren't there already.
 
  #3  
Old 01-30-10, 06:59 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not getting any power to the outlet at all..changed the recepticle.no power at all used a multi tester to check it...touched all combination of wires...etc...still no power to the outlet or the rest of the circuit...there is at least one gfc outlet in the circuit too
 
  #4  
Old 01-30-10, 07:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
Now check the connections at any working receptacle on that circuit. Be sure to also check for a tripped breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 01-30-10, 07:05 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
not the breaker as far as i know....first part of the circuit works...there is an interruption someplace...can't figure out where.
 
  #6  
Old 01-30-10, 07:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
The open is most likely either in the last working or first non-working receptacle.
 
  #7  
Old 01-30-10, 07:33 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will check em all I guess..... I hope i can trace the path
 
  #8  
Old 02-03-10, 10:39 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HI! I have been doing some troubleshooting work same as your problem and this is what I've done. I checked all the outlets with a polarity tester and see what the tester indicates, then test it with a multimeter. You can do the same. You can check each outlet with a multimeter by checking the voltages between the neutral and live slots of the receptacles. If it reads below 100volts or even less, you have a loose neutral somewhere along the loop/line. Check also the line to ground on the receptacle. If it reads 120volts, then the live wire is ok and the neutral line has problem.(If you don't get any voltage reading the live wire is also loose) I noticed that most wiring on receptacles are done on the back/push slots of the receptacle and not wired on the terminal screws. In time it becomes corroded or loose and that become the problem that you don't have power on the outlets. Good luck!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: