Adding a neutral wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-31-10, 08:14 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding a neutral wire

Hello,

I am wondering how to add a neutral wire to any of my j-boxes. Right now they have 3 wires, which I am assuming are hot, (black)return (white)and ground(bare). I was looking at some insteon switches and they stated that they needed a neutral wire to work. Do I have to run new wire with 4 wires to the j-boxes all the way from the main panel?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-31-10, 09:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
Originally Posted by Wagx99 View Post
Hello,

I am wondering how to add a neutral wire to any of my j-boxes. Right now they have 3 wires, which I am assuming are hot, (black)return (white)and ground(bare). I was looking at some insteon switches and they stated that they needed a neutral wire to work. Do I have to run new wire with 4 wires to the j-boxes all the way from the main panel?
If this is a 120 volt circuit, the white wire would be the neutral conductor. I think what the instructions are saying is that you must have a neutral conductor at the switch box.
 
  #3  
Old 01-31-10, 10:02 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you have just only three wire with single cable comming in the junction box then you have switch loop but if you have second cable comming in then you should have legit netural there.

BTW the switched loop it should have remarked white conductor in there { I know most case it never done but per NEC code you have to do that only with cable but with conduit (pipe) then no you can't do that }

Merci,Marc
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: