wiring a sub-panel

Old 02-07-10, 11:01 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring a sub-panel

Hi, I am considering replacing my "old style" sub-panel box in my garage and updating it to a modern breaker box. I'm not really interested on bringing more amps to the garage at this point, but just want to update it to something better. It currently has 40 amps brought in from the main panel via a 240 line that has 2 hots, a common, and a ground. I have some electrical experience and know how to use a multi-meter for troubleshooting, etc. Is something that would be easy to do? There are currently 4 circuits out there, each on a 30 amp fuse (seems odd). I would try to keep the four circuits if possible, or just make 2 20 amps circuits (which seems to make more sense in my mind). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,
Chris

Sponsored Links
Old 02-07-10, 11:10 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The existing circuits are over-fused if they are general lighting and 120v receptacles. What size wire to the garage and distance?

Old 02-07-10, 01:05 PM
B
the distance to the garage from the main panel is probably 30 feet. I'm guessing it is 8 or 10 gauge, but no markings on the casing. Casing is dark grey.

Old 02-07-10, 01:14 PM
B
Here is a picture of the existing box. I know, it's pretty scary.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/boedeke...es/4338827398/

Last edited by boecycle; 02-07-10 at 01:15 PM. Reason: picture didn't load
Old 02-07-10, 09:21 PM
Originally Posted by boecycle View Post
Here is a picture of the existing box. I know, it's pretty scary.
DSC02438 on Flickr - Photo Sharing!