air compressor breaker size

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-19-10, 11:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 115
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
air compressor breaker size

I just bought an air compressor its a 5hp 220v and the tag says 22a on the motor. What size breaker do i need.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-19-10, 11:54 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
If the FLA on the nameplate says 22A, you need #10/2g cable, a NEMA 6-30 receptacle and corresponding plug on the compressor, and a 30A double-pole breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-10, 01:23 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,308
Received 47 Votes on 44 Posts
Breakers are good for about 80% of their 'capacity' so a 30 amp breaker is good up to about a 24 amp draw.

Makes me think less of my compressor now, it's only a 110v model. :-(
 
  #4  
Old 02-20-10, 10:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For 5 HP motour on this size typically can use 30 amp breaker if starting is not a issue but if tripped with starting you can increase to 40 or 50 amp breaker only if the motor do have build in thermal protection switch in there.

This part only good for hardwired motors only cord et plugs are not allowed to use oversized breaker due the rating of cord and plut set up.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: