Replace breaker in Zinsco panels

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-25-10, 01:04 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool Replace breaker in Zinsco panels

I have a Zinsco panel and I think one of the breaker has gone bad (15 Amps.). How do I replace this breaker? The breaker is attached to two vertical bars
 

Last edited by Ratan; 02-25-10 at 01:05 PM. Reason: spelling
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-25-10, 06:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,631
Received 208 Votes on 185 Posts
If the breaker is in the upper half of the panel it can not be shut down without pulling the meter. If it is in the lower half, IIRC, you can shut it down with one of the above breakers. The breaker should just pull straight out (carefully!).
 
  #3  
Old 02-25-10, 07:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,651
Received 86 Votes on 76 Posts
Make that VERY CAREFULLY! When you remove the Zinsco breaker you'll probably find the back or side of it is all burned out and most likely has damaged the bus bars and the adjacent breaker/breakers. Be prepared for a panel replacement in the not-to-distant future. Also, be vigilant for sizzling and arcing sounds as you work with the breakers. Those are more signs this panel is ready for the junk pile.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: