fountain switch wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-10, 01:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 14
fountain switch wiring

I have an exterior fountain hard-wired to a switch. adjacent the switch is a GFCI outlet wired directly to the circuit breaker. The idea was to use the GFCI protection for the outlet and the fountain pump in case water penetrated the underwater splice. when i test the GFCI, the outlets loose power but the pump continues to run. I will try to post links for photos, but any interim help based on the following description would be appreciated...
-source wires are red, white, and green
-pump wires are black, white, and green
-red source is wired to LINE side of GFCI outlet
-a separate red wire links LINE side on outlet to Hot on switch
-white source wire is nutted to a white wire on LINE side of outlet and white wire from pump
-green source wire is nutted to a green wire on outlet ground and green wire from pump
-black pump wire goes to switch

http://picasaweb.google.com/10082263...eat=directlink
 

Last edited by wire89; 02-27-10 at 01:57 PM. Reason: add photo link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-10, 02:00 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,697
Likes Received: 11
You need to wire the red wire going to the switch, on the LOAD side of the GFCI. You also need to wire the white going to the pump to the LOAD side of the GFCI.

Everything else keep the same.
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-10, 02:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,800
Likes Received: 3
There is no wiring on the LOAd side of the GFI receptacle. Only the receptacle is GFI protected.
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-10, 02:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 14
thanks (adding more characters to post my appreciation)
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-10, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
You also need to wire the white going to the pump to the LOAD side of the GFCI.
actually, one clarification....do i wire the white source directly to the LINE side and the white pump wire directly to the LOAD side, and omit the third white wire?
 
  #6  
Old 02-27-10, 03:24 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,697
Likes Received: 11
Originally Posted by wire89 View Post
actually, one clarification....do i wire the white source directly to the LINE side and the white pump wire directly to the LOAD side, and omit the third white wire?
Yes, you could do that, or just move the pump white to the LOAD side of the GFCI and leave the wirenut. Your choice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes