Wiring recommendation help

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-09-10, 06:27 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring recommendation help

Hello to all on the forum. I am an inspiring DIY type of guy who is a jack of all trades and master of none.

Looking to wire an outlet in my garage to run an air compressor that is 220-240v, 18.5 amps. I currently have a circuit panel in the garage with plenty of open breaker slots. I have two scenerios for the experts.

1. I have an existing 110 outlet that uses a 12/2 awg wire that runs to a 20a circuit breaker.
Will this wire work for the compressor if I switch the wire to a larger 220v circuit breaker? If so, what would one recommend for a breaker if the compressor is pulling 18.5amps? 25a or 30a breaker.

Or should I just run a whole new line using a different wire and of different gauge pluse a new oulet?

Thank you guys/gals in advance for all the help.

Sincerely,
Mike
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-09-10, 06:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,664
Received 220 Votes on 194 Posts
Originally Posted by mtburg71 View Post
1. I have an existing 110 outlet that uses a 12/2 awg wire that runs to a 20a circuit breaker.
Will this wire work for the compressor if I switch the wire to a larger 220v circuit breaker?
No. First off you can only put 20 amp breaker on #12 wire. There are some exceptions but I will skip that for now.

Originally Posted by mtburg71 View Post
If so, what would one recommend for a breaker if the compressor is pulling 18.5amps? 25a or 30a breaker. Or should I just run a whole new line using a different wire and of different gauge pluse a new oulet?
The start up current of your compressor will be much greater than the 18.5 running amps. I recommend running a new #10/2 w/Ground cable and using a two pole 30 amp breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 03-09-10, 06:39 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tolyn, I appreciate the quick response. Thank you for the input. Now it is time to get some new wire, breaker and the rest of the goodies to make it work. Yes, I will turn off the power to the panel as well.

Thanks,
Mike
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: