Wiring Requirement for Post Lamp

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-11-10, 03:19 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 454
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring Requirement for Post Lamp

I am adding a post lamp about 12' from the house along the front walkway. There is an outlet box on the wall that has a GFI in it. It is also the outlet box that feeds another post lamp far down the driveway. My plan is to tap into the same feed as goes out to the far away post lamp. The wire is 12AWG UF and goes thru a plastic pipe to about 16" below ground. The digging is real difficult in the area due to trees and roots over the 12'. I could use 12 AWG UF but the digging down to 18" would be difficult. I would like to use gray pvc at 6" below grade. Can I use THHN, 12 AWG, blk/wht/green in the conduit?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-11-10, 03:52 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,130
Received 78 Votes on 66 Posts
The minimum burial depth is 12" if the run is protected by GFI protection, unless under concrete.

Without GFI protection the depth is 18" minimum to the top of the cable or conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-10, 03:59 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 454
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 12" sounds better already. I guess i was mistaken about the 6" depth in conduit. Sounds like the best idea is to use the load feed from the GFI directly to the light post. There will be a socket controller that allows the light to come on at dust and stay on eitehr 4, 8 or 12 hours.
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-10, 04:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,130
Received 78 Votes on 66 Posts
If rigid or IMC conduit is used the depth can be 6".
 
  #5  
Old 03-11-10, 05:21 PM
n1ml's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 454
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I use rigid or IMC, what kind of wire conductors are required?
 
  #6  
Old 03-11-10, 06:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,130
Received 78 Votes on 66 Posts
You would still use THWN.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: