Lights on appliance circuit


  #1  
Old 03-16-10, 08:17 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lights on appliance circuit

We have a 20-amp circuit that feeds a few outlets. Our Fridge -- max 7 amps -- is plugged into the only outlet in use. I understand that code does not allow lights on this circuit - why not? It would be very convenient to tap into this circuit for a few DR lights....
 
  #2  
Old 03-16-10, 08:53 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,258
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
The Code wants available circuit capacity so that the high draw kitchen appliances can run without tripping the breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-10, 09:04 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does that mean that one could get away with it (understood that it's not code) if there is enough circuit capacity, or should it really be avoided at all costs?
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-10, 09:24 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,258
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
Mixing lighting on the small appliance branch circuits is a Code violation and should not be done.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-10, 12:23 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,196
Received 365 Votes on 316 Posts
Also, think of the next guy. You may not have much on the circuit now but the home will likely be there long after your gone and who knows what the next guy will bring. The Code is there for a reason. It should not be done.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: