Panel Wiring Issue, neutral wire

Old 04-05-10, 04:47 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Panel Wiring Issue, neutral wire

I just bought a home built in 1968 and have some issues to resolve.

In my main electrical panel (there are no sub panels) there is a neutral wire (white) under the same wire nut as some ground wires (bare/green). The 20A breaker/circuit associated with this neutral wire loses power for a second or two when the microwave is operating. The breaker does not trip, power is just interrupted just long enough to stop the microwave operation. For now I have relocated the microwave to an outlet on another breaker and it works fine.

I'm wondering if this wiring problem would be solved by moving the neutral wire from the wire nut to the neutral bar. Is the use of wire nuts in electrical panels okay? I haven't touched it yet but my father-in-law told me that the wire nut is not very tight, maybe it just needs a properly sized and tightened wire nut.

I have no experience with wiring, just a bit of circuitry booksmarts so I am nervous about changing anything in the panel without getting some advise first.

Thank you very much for any input.

Old 04-05-10, 04:51 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I would suggest moving the neutral to the neutral bar. If there is room you may want to add a ground bar to the panel.

Old 04-05-10, 05:02 PM
P
All Neutral and Grounding Conductors in the Service panel should be connected to seperate terminals on the Neutral terminal bar. If there is a spare terminal available on the Neutral bar , then use it nowfor the Neutral Conductor that is now under a W-N connection, because it is conducting current.

The Grounding Conductors only conduct current should there be a "fault" in the wiring , so you can correct the Grounding termination later , but correct the Neutral connection now.

Good Luck!!!

Old 04-05-10, 07:59 PM
'm wondering if this wiring problem would be solved by moving the neutral wire from the wire nut to the neutral bar.