gfi issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-12-10, 06:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
gfi issue

Hello,

I own a duplex that I just moved into. My tenant called me and said none of his electrical outlets in the bathroom work. I didnít have time to test his out, but I looked at mine this morning, and none of mine work either. I hit the reset button on the gfi outlet and I flipped the power in the power box. Still no power in the outlets. Am I missing something?

Ryan
 

Last edited by pcboss; 04-12-10 at 08:05 AM. Reason: corrected title
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-12-10, 07:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
The only thing I can think of is that there is another GFI somewhere in the circuit.

It seems very odd that the halves of the duplex were not wired separately and only one circuit was used.
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-10, 08:03 AM
RHefferan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by nikotromus11 View Post
Hello,

I own a duplex that I just moved into. My tenant called me and said none of his electrical outlets in the bathroom work. I didnít have time to test his out, but I looked at mine this morning, and none of mine work either. I hit the reset button on the cfgi outlet and I flipped the power in the power box. Still no power in the outlets. Am I missing something?

Ryan
Sometimes, if the GFCI is bad, hitting the reset isn't enough. I would recommend that you turn the power off and remove the receptacle. Get a voltage tester of some type (the cheapest will work and they cost $10 or less). Turn the power back on and check if any of the wires behind the receptacle have voltage. If you have 120V, you have a bad GFCI which needs to be replaced. If you have no voltage, you have an issue somewhere between the panel and those wires.

Make sure you note how the device is wired before you take it apart, so that reassembly is easier.
 
  #4  
Old 04-12-10, 09:25 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Was this building constructed as a duplex or chopped up into one at a later time? Does it have a main panel for each side?
 
  #5  
Old 04-12-10, 10:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 339
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you having trouble with anything else in your duplex? ( Lights, receptacles and more )?

Jim
 
  #6  
Old 04-12-10, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
**** fixed ******

OK, I think it's fixed. I had another cgfi outlet in my downstairs batheroom that needed to be reset. Once I did that, all of my outlets worked.

Tonight I will try the same for my tenant's side and I am willing to bet it will work. They probably got tripped during the inspection process last month.

Thanks for the replies!

Ryan
 
  #7  
Old 04-12-10, 12:59 PM
RHefferan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since you have a GFCI covering the circuit from the other bathroom, I would remove the GFCI in the upstairs bathroom and replace it with a standard receptacle. Having two obviously creates more confusion than good, and the circuit only needs protection once.
 
  #8  
Old 04-12-10, 06:01 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
You could possibly also change the GFI wiring so that only the bathroom where the GFI was located would trip. This would make it easier to reset instead of running to another room. You would need to move the downstream wiring to the LINE terminals. You would also need to verify that and receptacles downstream that need GFI protection would still have it provided.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: