Multiple circuits in same box

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-22-10, 08:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Multiple circuits in same box

  1. I have two different circuits going into a 4 gang metal box. Does code consider this acceptable?
  2. The circuits are 15a and 20a, 120v each. What is the proper way of grounding both circuits? Can I just wire up all the grounds together? (ie 15a ground, 20a ground, ground the box, ground the switches). The neutrals Iím keeping on their respective circuits.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-22-10, 08:58 AM
RHefferan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ii_diesel_ii View Post
  1. I have two different circuits going into a 4 gang metal box. Does code consider this acceptable?
  2. The circuits are 15a and 20a, 120v each. What is the proper way of grounding both circuits? Can I just wire up all the grounds together? (ie 15a ground, 20a ground, ground the box, ground the switches). The neutrals Iím keeping on their respective circuits.
Yes, there it is acceptable to have two different circuits in the same box, provided they are both fed from the same panel. Where there is more than one source the electrical systems should be separated.

Yes, all the grounds may be tied together. The ground tail you attach to the box and devices should match the largest wire size (12 gauge, probably).

You are correct to keep the neutrals separate, that is important. Two circuits should not have interconnected neutrals ever.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-10, 09:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it is common to find two or more circuit in the muligang box.

I done that all the time on commercal building so it is used in resdentail side as well.

However you are right with the netural question.

Never mix the netural at all and can NOT cross connection the netural this is very important here. { I have see that situation if not carefull with it. }

Yes you can tie all the grounding conductors { useally bare or green wire } together that is not a issue and it is good pratice to do that anyway for your safety sake.

However for grounding pigtail go with the largest conductor in the box if you have 4.0mm≤ { #12 AWG } then you have to use 4.0mm≤ all the way thru.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: