Splitting a 220 V line

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-10, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Question Splitting a 220 V line

I am replacing an old electric double oven with two new separate ovens. The first oven requires a hard wired 220 V, 30 amp line and the second oven (microwave/convection) requires a dedicated standard 120 V, 20 amp outlet. Currently I have a junction box in back of the stove cavity which is supplied with a dedicated 220 V, 80 amp circuit. I plan on hard wiring the first 220 V oven. My question is since I have an 80 amp circuit and only need 30 amp for the first oven, can I tap one leg of this circuit at the junction box to supply a newly installed 120 V, 20 amp outlet, which would be dedicated to my second oven?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-10, 01:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,864
Likes Received: 22
Originally Posted by bluemoose View Post
Currently I have a junction box in back of the stove cavity which is supplied with a dedicated 220 V, 80 amp circuit.
Are you sure that's an 80A circuit or do you mean a double-pole 40A? What type and how many wires do you have? What size is the breaker?
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-10, 03:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 2
split 220 line

Two 40 amp ganged breakers
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-10, 05:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
The first oven requires a hard wired 220 V, 30 amp line... Two 40 amp ganged breakers
You would need to change to a 30a two pole breaker. If the new oven is truly 240v not 120/240v either a 3-wire circuit or a 4-wire circuit will work assuming you have a bare or green ground wire. If it is 120/240v you will need a 4-wire circuit.
the second oven (microwave/convection) requires a dedicated standard 120 V, 20 amp outlet
You will need to run a new dedicated 20a 120v circuit for this. A standard receptacle can not be used on a 30a circuit so for that reason and others you can't connect the receptacle to one leg of the 240v circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes