3-way switch problems

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-02-10, 08:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: u.s.
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3-way switch problems

Do 3-way switches have to be in any sort of "position" before replacing them? Here is my problem:

Replacing two 3 way light switches, pulled out the old ones, connected the new one and made sure the common to common wires were correct (black wire) and red and white wires were oriented the same on both switches.

So here is what's going on: I can turn on the lights with switch 1, I can turn them off with switch 2, but I can not turn them back on with switch 1, I have to turn them on with switch 2 and vice versa.

I can't remember how the switches were positioned before I cut the power off to make the switch, but I'm pretty sure the light were on.

I've tried every combo of wiring, tried switching switches, but when I plug the original switches back in, they work perfectly, even when I replace just one of the switches and leave the 1 old one on it does the same as described above.

Oh and here's another weird thing. So I put back the old switches, I turned both to the "off" (down) position, connect the new switches, both in the "off" position, when I flip the breaker back on, the lights come on, and to turn them off, I have to flip one of the switches to "on" and then no matter what combination of flipping I use to turn on the light with either switch, it's always in the down or off position.

Clear as mud?
bobbysan is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-02-10, 08:29 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Are you sure you identified the common correctly on the new switch? It may not be in the same place as the old switch. The common will be the odd colored screw. Usually it is a darker color.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-10, 01:11 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,105
Received 30 Votes on 24 Posts
It is sometimes easier to understand if you just replace both 3-way switches with two new identical 3-way switches. Short answer is you have 2 wires reversed.
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-10, 04:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,959
Received 34 Votes on 29 Posts
Three way switches do not have to be down to be off.
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-10, 08:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For one three way switch there is three tries to get it working correct however if you replace both three way switches then total of tries will be 9 { nine } tries but once you know which one is common and traveller then it will be pretty easy to pinpoint it.

Merci,Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: