Installing 3-way occupancy sensor

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-10, 07:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing 3-way occupancy sensor

Hi,

I would need some help to install an occupancy sensor.
I currently have two switches in my garage which are controlling one ceiling light.

I want to replace one of the switches (Switch #2 in the diagram below) for an occupancy sensor. The occupancy I have purchased is a Pass & Seymour which can do both single pole and 3-way.

I have replaced a single pole switch by a sensor in the past and it was straightforward.
But with the garage 3-way layout, I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing.

I have made a diagram of the wiring for each switch (Switch #1 and Switch #2).

The occupancy sensor has one Load (red), one Common (Black), one Neutral (white) and one Traveler (yellow) wire.

1. So I would like to know if it's possible replace the Switch #2 with the occupancy sensor?
2. If so, how to do it? I have tried connecting black-black, red-red, white-white and capping the yellow (traveler) wire. The light doesn’t light up but the LED light on the sensor does.

Installation details for the occupancy sensor
http://tools.passandseymour.com/pdf/...3_RevB_Eng.pdf

Wiring diagram: (*Ground wires are not shown)


Thank you in advance.
Mark
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-10, 08:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I believe the sensor you have can only operate at the switch #1 location on this circuit. Are you sure the diagram is correct? I do not think that what you have drawn is a working three-way circuit. Is there another junction box somewhere, perhaps multiple cables at the light fixture?
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-10, 08:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the quick response.

I may have made a mistake when making the diagram. But I didn't look at the cables going in/out of the light fixture.

So I guess you're saying it can't work at switch #2 because there's no neutral ?

If I install the sensor at switch #1, the wiring would be:

Red from Sensor with Red (Common)
Yellow from Sensor with Other Red (Traveler ??)
Black from Sensor to Black (Hot)
White from Sensor with other white wires (capped) (Neutral)

Thanks again for the help. Really appreciated.
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-10, 08:31 AM
RHefferan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From the way I read the instructions for that device, it can only be used as a 3-way in conjunction with another identical device. It cannot be used with a standard 3 way switch, because it only offers 1 traveller instead of the traditional 2 travellers.

I believe it should work like this, provided the 14-2 is the incoming power which I think is what you were displaying.

Black from 14-2 to black of sensor AND black in 14-3 to other sensor.

White from 14-2 to all whites in box.

Yellow from sensor to red of 14-3 to other sensor.

Red from sensor to black up to the light.

in the other switch box:

Black to black of sensor

white to white of sensor

red to yellow of sensor

Red of sensor capped off
 
  #5  
Old 05-04-10, 09:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks RHefferan.

I'm starting to think I may have bought the wrong model.
I guess I will email Pass & Seymour to double check if it can be used in conjunction with a standard light switch.

So, it seems that even if I put the sensor at switch #1, it won't work ?

Thanks a lot for the help.
 
  #6  
Old 05-04-10, 10:57 AM
RHefferan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 125
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Westbank View Post
Thanks RHefferan.

I'm starting to think I may have bought the wrong model.
I guess I will email Pass & Seymour to double check if it can be used in conjunction with a standard light switch.

So, it seems that even if I put the sensor at switch #1, it won't work ?

Thanks a lot for the help.
That is correct, I believe, unless you purchase another identical sensor and install them in both locations.
 
  #7  
Old 05-04-10, 11:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've sent an email to Pass & Seymour.
Here's what they said:

** RW3U600 is the model number of the sensor I have. **
If you have a 3 way application you would need to a RW3U600 on each end of
the circuit.
We do not have a sensor/standard switch solution.
So it looks like this is not going to work with a standard light switch. I would need to buy another sensor.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: