Wiring 220v Oven with 10-2 not 10-3

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-18-10, 06:23 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States of America
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring 220v Oven with 10-2 not 10-3

I used 10-2 to wire a 240v oven. I realize I should have used 10-3 wire, but I ran the wire all the way from the panel to the outlet before I realized my mistake. I used the bare ground as my neutral. When finished, I taped the bare ground so there were no bare surfaces exposed. Should I rip out the 10-2 and replace with 10-3?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-18-10, 06:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Should I rip out the 10-2 and replace with 10-3
Yes. You need to replace it with 10-3 or 8-3 depending on the oven requirements. What you did was wrong and unsafe. Turn off the breaker till you can fix it.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-18-10 at 08:20 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-18-10, 06:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
What are the ampacity requirements for the oven?

I agree with Ray, what you installed is unsafe and needs to be replaced.
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-10, 07:54 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by paramore View Post
I used 10-2 to wire a 240v oven. I realize I should have used 10-3 wire, but I ran the wire all the way from the panel to the outlet before I realized my mistake. I used the bare ground as my neutral. When finished, I taped the bare ground so there were no bare surfaces exposed. Should I rip out the 10-2 and replace with 10-3?

No!! Don't do it !!!!

That is competly illegal to do this.

I am sorry but you have to pull this cable out and redo it correct and the bare grouding conductor is not used for current carry conductor at all.

You have to put in correct cable you will need 6.0mmX3 with ground { 10-3 AWG with ground }

Merci,Marc
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-10, 05:40 AM
S
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: can
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You will need to remove it and install 10-3.

Besides being the ground wire, it does not have the gauge thickness to carry the loads of the main conductors.

Spenceq
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-10, 09:02 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
What are the electrical requirements of the oven stamped on the nameplate or in the installation manual? Built-in ovens do not always require 10-3.
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-10, 08:42 PM
SilverTattoo's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA Tennessee Nashville
Posts: 215
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Run the 10/3..(if its 30amp!) What were you thinking? Call in a pro! 30amps is prob a guess also. It is prob 30 but did you even look to see? This is a BIG FIRE HAZARD!!

I used the bare ground as my neutral.
Never use a wire with NO INSULATION to carry current!!!
Flip that breaker to off, take the wire out of the breaker, walk away and call a pro.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: