No power to wires from Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-26-10, 06:25 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No power to wires from Circuit

I was adding an end-of-run duplex receptacle when I came across three issues: 1. It was a 20 amp circuit and I erroneously used 14-2 gage wire instead of 12-2 gage. 2. once hooked up, I had power to the original two receptacles but not to the end-of-run. 3. I shut off the circuit, removed the end-of-run, and now -when I turn the circuit back on - I have no power to the original two receptacles. I figured I may have skunked the original two, so I bought replacements, but now, when I turn on the circuit, the wires to the original two receptacles are not hot.

My question is this: did I damage the circuit breaker? Or, is it normal for the wires to be 'dead' even when power is on?

Cary NC
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-26-10, 06:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Unlikely the breaker but you can check with a volt meter at the breaker but first check the neutral connection at the panel is okay.. Also check the wire at the breaker to be sure the screw is tight.
 
  #3  
Old 05-26-10, 06:56 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
I think you might have a backstab receptacle that looks like it is making contact but really is not. Pulling the device out loosened the connection.
 
  #4  
Old 05-26-10, 07:00 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, they aren't backstab receptacles. Standard duplex.

I have the circuit on, and can grab the wires from the wall with no issue. That is the issue - what would make the wires dead? My assumption is a bad circuit breaker...
 
  #5  
Old 05-26-10, 07:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,144
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
When I said backstab I was referring to a method of terminating the holes using the holes in the back of the device.

Breakers can go bad, but in my experience it is rare for this to happen.
 
  #6  
Old 05-26-10, 07:54 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay. So I checked the breaker, it is fine. I pulled off the two receptacles on the circuit and separated all the wires. I now have nothing connected to the circuit. Turned on the breaker, and there isn't a hot wire to be found.

Suggestions?
 
  #7  
Old 05-26-10, 08:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Measure the voltage between black and ground.
 
  #8  
Old 05-27-10, 05:21 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,705
Received 17 Votes on 16 Posts
Circuit

Look for a hidden GFCI receptacle upstream of the two original receptacles. When you find it, reset it.
 
  #9  
Old 05-27-10, 07:40 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,598
Received 200 Votes on 178 Posts
Originally Posted by CaryNCGuy View Post
1. It was a 20 amp circuit and I erroneously used 14-2 gage wire instead of 12-2 gage.
Replace the 14 gauge wire with 12 gauge. Sometime later down the road somebody will see #12 on a 15 amp breaker and will hook it to a 20 amp. This could be a risk of fire.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: