using mounting screw for grounding

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-10, 08:42 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
using mounting screw for grounding

at couple locations, the original installer looped the ground wire around the mounting screw of the switch in stead of using the "ground screw." i have found this for both plastic as well metal boxes.

while the contact seems to be good so the grounding is being achieved, i thought this a code violation. is it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-10, 08:51 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
Yes, this is a code violation. The mounting screws are NOT for equipment grounding.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-10, 10:13 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
It is a code violation now, however historically this was a common practice.
 
  #4  
Old 05-28-10, 03:22 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks ibpooks and furd

i guess 23 yrs back it was OK...
 
  #5  
Old 05-28-10, 04:06 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
Just because it was a common practice didn't make it right even back then. I have also seen in years past a common practice of using the romex clamp screw in metal boxes for grounding, but that wasn't right either.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: