doorbell transformer buzzing

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-04-10, 04:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
doorbell transformer buzzing

Hello,

I recently added a switch to a light. The box also housed the doorbell transformer. When I turned the circuit breaker back on, the switch and light work fine, but now the doorbell transformer buzzes noticeably. The doorbell still works. I checked the connections and wiring for shorts, but ultimately disconnected the transformer, leaving my doorbell disabled. I should mention that the original box was so old that I was unable to get any of the ko's out. I wound up just putting everything into a new box, but things did a little roughed up while I was trying to pop out a ko.

Is the transformer bad? Should I just get a wireless doorbell to replace this one?

Thanks for the help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-04-10, 07:49 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,981
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Is it possible that you are noticing a vibration from a transformer that is not mounted securely?
 
  #3  
Old 07-04-10, 10:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmmmm....

The new box I installed caused the transformer to not quite fit well, as it was up against the floor joist. So that could be it.

I did, however, try hooking it up dangling in the air to see if it was vibrational. Same sound dangling in the air. Does that mean it's not vibration? Or do i need to get it mounted securely in a new box?

Many thanks for your response.
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-10, 06:40 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,981
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Those transformers typically mount ouside the box and have a built-in clamp that uses a knockout in the metal box.

For the small cost I might try to change the transformer.
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-10, 03:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update, problem solved...

Thanks for the help. Turned out my transformer was for an intercom system and had two black load wires. I had wired it as if one of the black wires was a neutral.

I bought a new transformer anyway with a white and black wire and installed it tightly in its own box. Works fine. No buzzing.

Thanks for the advice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: