over-the-range microwave

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-05-10, 06:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 107
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
over-the-range microwave

I had always planned for a 20 amp dedicated circuit for my over-the-range microwave. The manufacturer's instructions say to put it on a 15 amp dedicated circuit, though. 14 gauge wire is certainly cheaper and easier to work with. Is there any disadvantage to not putting it on a 20 amp if it's not required? Are most microwaves moving this direction so that if someone wanted to replace it down the road they would be sufficiently covered with 15 amps?

Thanks for your opinions!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-10, 06:20 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,957
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
There is no problem with running the larger wiring and it gives you greater options should you decide to change the unit later.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-10, 09:28 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Many jurisdictions require that the OTR circuit be 20A, so I would install the #12 with a 15A breaker. This allows an easy upgrade to 20A when you eventually replace this microwave.
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-10, 03:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will just run 4.0mm˛ twinner { 12-2 NM } with 15 amp breaker you will be fine and by time if you want more serious powerfull mircowave hood it is ready for ya and you don't have to do that twice.

Merci.
Marc
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: