NYC Electrical Code?

Old 07-05-10, 12:30 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NYC Electrical Code?

Hi, just wondering if anyone can help me with NYC electrical codes. I'm not an electrician or anything and I wanted to know if there are codes in NYC that govern the Breaker Panel? I live in a 1 bedroom apartment and our panel has 3 breakers in it, one 15 amp breaker and two 20 amp breakers. Is this in code for NYC?

We have had problems with the electric forever. We cannot run our A/C because the compressor will only stay on for 30 seconds or so. Then it just blows room temperature air for 20 minutes and the compressor kicks on for another 30 seconds. We even tried unplugging every appliance / light / piece of electronics equipment in the apartment and running extension cords to different outlets. No luck.

Also the lights dim constantly. Every couple minutes the lights dim way down and all our fans slow to a crawl (it's more frequent in the summer, but happens all year). The microwave actually shuts off because it can't draw enough power when the lights dim. My plasma TV shuts itself off for the same reason. And we can't use our oven (even though it's gas) because the safety mechanism won't open the gas valve if the ignition system can't draw enough power.

I have talked to my landlord multiple times about this and he even had an electrician come look at the panel and something in the basement. After the guy left the landlord told us that everything was fine and we should just get used to the lights dimming because it's NYC and that happens everywhere. He told us before that we were on the same electric line as the subway, and that causes the lights to dim, is that even possible?

I would really like to know if there is some sort of code violation here that I could possibly use as leverage to get him to actually do something about this problem.

If you need more information, please ask.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Old 07-05-10, 02:08 PM
Group Moderator