Multiple circuits affect a single non-working outlet?

Old 08-15-10, 12:30 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Multiple circuits affect a single non-working outlet?

Introduction
My townhouse has a wall-mounted exterior electrical outlet that, to put it simply, does not work. The outlet is a Leviton 15-Amp White Self Grounding Duplex Power Outlet. A "weatherproof" outlet cover, like this Greenfield Duplex Weatherproof Electrical Outlet Cover, protects the outlet.

Caveat lector
I am an amateur. I have accomplished relatively simple electrical work, such as replacing electrical outlets and installing ceiling fans and light fixtures. I have no relevant formal training, though.

Tools
  1. RadioShack "GFCI TESTER"
  2. DT-5806 digital multimeter

Actions and Observations
I discovered the problem when the outlet failed to power a tool that I'd plugged into it.

I checked both plugs of the outlet using the RadioShack GFCI tester, which indicated no reading for either plug. I interpreted this lack of reading as insufficient voltage.

I checked both plugs of the outlet using the DT-5806, which indicated approximately 4.5 VAC between conductor and ground. All circuits had been enabled at the circuit breaker panel. This low voltage reading struck me as very odd (and induced some heebie-jeebies ).

I decided to uncover the outlet for closer inspection. Before removing the outlet's cover, I decided to try to zero the DT-5806 voltage reading. While my wife monitored the voltage reading, I disabled one electrical circuit at a time. No single circuit-disablement zeroed the voltage reading, but several single circuit-disablements reduced the voltage reading. By disabling four (yes, four!) particular circuits, we minimized the voltage reading at approximately 0.7 VAC. (This added "the willies" to my heebie-jeebies. )

Phantom voltage? Stray voltage?