New Service

Old 12-08-00, 10:39 PM
wallyk
Visiting Guest
Smile

I will be building a new home & would like to know if an untrained person can wire their own home. What r your thoughts? Are their step-by-step instructions somewhere?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-09-00, 12:00 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

wally,
I'm not an electrician, but that is about the LAST thing that an "untrained person" should even contemplate.
First, you have to have a permit, which I doubt that you would be able to get, and all must eventually pass stringent inspections.
There are local and national electrical codes that must be met, and those are constantly changing.
Do yourself a MAJOR favor and hire a pro electrical contractor. Period.
If you want to D-I-Y some of the work on your new home, believe me, there are plenty of other things that you can do to accomplish that. Electrical definitely aint one of 'em.
I am an experienced, but absolutely non-pro, D-I-Yer from way back, and I had all of my plumbing and electrical roughed-in when I built my present home in 1977-78, and did the finish work myself(amazingly,it all passed... LOL), and I know my limitations (many).
I don't even know if they would allow me to do that now.
In any case, look for things like insulation, drywall, painting, etc. that you CAN do safely, and leave the technical electrical stuff to the pros.
Your fire department will thank you, your insurance company will thank you, your family will thank you, etc.
Good Luck!

Old 12-09-00, 03:13 AM
Can an untrained person do this? Absolutely not.