Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

my quest for a proper ground and sound electric service, need pro advice

Old 09-03-10, 07:20 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

I run a lot of sensitive electronic equipment and pro audio gear, so I am more anal about a perfect electric system than most. My goal here is ABOVE code and not to cheap out - perfect proper and ideal. What I have is sub-par. I am not an electrician but consider myself a competent well educated homeowner, and I check the NEC before anything.

Background:

My 1952 NH home has a refreshed 200 amp service entering the attached garage, and a 4 wire 100 amp house sub panel. Plastic water main entry, no gas. Many 2 prong outlets and snakeskin wiring.

Neutral/ground bonded at main panel, not at sub. *looks* like #6 or #4 stranded copper to building ground (0.250 dia). 2x 1/2" galvanized rods with acorn clamps: First one clearly sawed off god knows how deep, shallow topsoil run to second rod approx 5 feet away. Second one mushroomed top no idea if its sawed off also. not good.

First indication of problem?
I ran 2 side by side fresh 12awg romex dedicated drops - one for home theater one for subwoofer only.
Subwoofer hums like you wouldn't believe.
Break rca ground to receiver it gets better.
Try changing breaker panel leg for both drops to match doesn't change it.
Any large electrical load increase in the house makes hum louder (coffeemaker,microwave,air conditioner, etc).
"cheater plug" to test only did not fix hum alarming me to think there is neutral backfeed!

not sitting well. Home has much unexplained electrical voodoo other than this too. many gfci false trips. Turn on lights and computer ups beeps, etc.

I now suspect sub panel wiring fault or pole wiring fault. I plan to plug the sub in at the garage to see if it has the same issue (my little tester).