fuse box- 2 hots combined to one fuse

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-03-10, 09:07 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question fuse box- 2 hots combined to one fuse

i have 2 cables entering the box, both 12-2 NM. The black hots of each are connected into 1 wire which goes to a single fuse, like someone ran out of available slots. The wires are just taped together with electrical tape in the box, no wire nut or anything. Is this up to code? I now have an available slot, it would seem logical to just give each of these cables there own 15A fuse. Am I correct?
 
  #2  
Old 09-03-10, 09:13 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,240
Received 108 Votes on 94 Posts
From your description it certainly sounds like they ran out of fuses and doubled up on the one fuse.

The splice should have been made with an approved connector, not just tape.
 
  #3  
Old 09-03-10, 10:26 AM
W
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,185
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I am curious. What size fuse did they use?

If the cable is 12-2 you could fuse each circuit at 20A.
 
  #4  
Old 09-03-10, 01:29 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Wayne Mitchell View Post
I am curious. What size fuse did they use?

If the cable is 12-2 you could fuse each circuit at 20A.
They used a 20A fuse. I figure if I'm going to go to the trouble of untaping them I'd might as well just move one to its own fuse (and use 20A fuses like you said). Thanks guys, I think that takes care of all my fuse box issues finally.

I've actually cleaned it out so I have 3 open slots, one is going to the garage with 12-2, another will take care of the taped splice and I'll have one left for whatever comes up later.
Beer 4U2
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: