remotely controlled


  #1  
Old 09-21-10, 11:59 AM
Bernard_01's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
remotely controlled

greetings all,

is there such an item as a "romote controlled single pole switch" ? I want to control my security light without haveing to get up to go to the switch. THANKS.
 
  #2  
Old 09-21-10, 12:08 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,110
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Sure...depending on the wattage...there are plenty of wireless switches you could use. I had that for some floodlights..and I just took the wireless transmitter (designed for surface mount on a wall) and used it as a remote that I could move around.

Lutron brand IIRC...
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-10, 12:09 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Yes, there are a number of manufacturers of "home automation" switches that have remote control. Leviton, Smarthome, X-10, Maestro, etc all have switches with remote capability.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-10, 08:07 AM
Bernard_01's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bit more clear on my question

greetings all, my security lights are existing hard wired floods all installed. they are controlled by a single pole switch also hard wired. Is it true that the only modification I need to make is to the SP switch itself? I assume I will purchase a type of receiver that takes the place of the SP switch? Then that receiver will be controlled by a transmitter (remote) ? thank you all. -Bob
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-10, 09:57 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Likes: 0
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Yes that's correct. I believe they also make them that screw inline with the bulb or mount inside the light junction box.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-10, 07:01 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,357
Received 338 Likes on 304 Posts
Something like this might work...

Heath/Zenith BL-6133-WH Wireless Add On Switch, White - Smarthome

There are other options out there too. Just be careful, this one supports up to 500w, and others may be even less than that.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: